I'm a mentally ill person raising another mentally ill person. With chickens.

Late night

It’s 2AM and I’m in bed and I realized I didn’t write anything today. It kinda got away from me I guess. I took Alex to his psychiatrist appointment and it was so nice to finally work with a person who gets me! She’s been my psychiatrist for almost 15 years, so she knows all about Alex, and knows that I understand autism, and that I really work hard at understanding psych meds and how they work. She doesn’t feel the need to explain everything to me all the time. Such a relief! And she works with other developmentally disabled adults, so she gets that piece of the puzzle too. And she’s IN TOWN! Finally no more 3 hour trips to Sioux Falls! Such a relief to have that burden gone. There’s just no way to make that convenient. I’m very happy with this arrangement. It’s nice to have something going right for Alex for a change. Yay!
And I’m not hosting a large Thanksgiving! Just our family! So I can stay in pajamas all day, and try new things. This year I’m doing a Turkey breast in the slow cooker. I hope it’s good. I know it will be moist, I just worry that it will cross the line to mushy, but I think it will be ok. I do mashed potatoes in the slow cooker too (I have two), very easy way to get them done without much effort.
I’m thankful for a lot of things this year,but I’m tired, so I’ll tell you about them tomorrow.
Missouri is still on my mind today, as my sister in Jefferson City worries about her husband getting called out for the national guard (so far he’s stayed at home in Jeff. issuing body armour and other tactical gear) and a march on the governor’s mansion is planned. Hopefully all will be peaceful and they’ll have a normal Thanksgiving with my parents. Found these lyrics today. So sad, but so telling!
http://www.lyricsfreak.com/b/billie+holiday/strange+fruit_20017859.html

Have a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

